Author: Subject: new to kites
johno
Beach Bum

Member #: 507
Posts 18

Mood:

posted on 23-1-2004 at 20:32 Reply With Quote
new to kites

Hi, I have limited experience on my friends kite buggy.I would like to buy a kite and start landboarding, after reading through your forums, most people seem to be recommending the blade for boarding. I am 78 kilos, should I buy the 4 metre or the 4.9 metre? Also thinking about the bullet 4.5 or should i just stick with buying the blade? Any help appreciated. Thanks Johno
justal
Administrator

Member #: 1
Posts 7350

Mood: Just Chillin Dude

posted on 24-1-2004 at 18:33 Reply With Quote
Johno...

Don't limit yourself just to Flexifoil.. take a look at this thread...

Adam has suggested a few entry level kites that should suit you. I'm sure he'll have some other suggestions for you as well. The blade is a lovely kite and it is perfectly suited to boarding. I use the 4.9m on a mt-board and its a really nice size. Although slightly smaller is often better on a board (or buggy) as you can generate power easily on land by moving the kite around (smaller kites are more responsive and actually easier to generate power with in this way). A smaller kite is therefore useable in a wider range of conditions as you can fly it in light winds, but also hold onto it in stronger winds. With a bigger kite although you can fly it in light winds, you'll have to put it away once the wind picks up.

Al.

URL: Pixelwave Design - Website Design Wales
Shop: Website Templates

Personal Weblog: A Simple Life of Luxury in West Wales

Kite Central
Beach Bum

Member #: 803
Posts 18

Mood:

posted on 3-6-2004 at 20:34 Reply With Quote
Flexi now is more of a name thing than anything else, just like nike or adidas. Kite have come on a long way and now they are so many more kites out there to choose from, but the problem is when your spending the kind of money on a kite you want the right one, and Flexi tends to be a safe bet.