Forces-of-Nature Forums

Last Active : Never
Not logged in [Login - Register]

windsurf, Kitesurf, Waves, Surf, Sunset

Printable Version
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Author: Subject: Long fins vs. short fins?
zanapple

Member #: 919
Posts 3

Mood:

posted on 18-8-2004 at 16:52 Reply With Quote
Long fins vs. short fins?

I've just started body boarding, and have been using some fins that I had for swimming in the surf. They are longer and thinner than body board fins. They seem to work well for me, but I was wondering if more experienced body boarders could caution me about using these long fins.

Thanks!

Thodd
A Force-of-Nature *

Most active Body-boarder 2004

Member #: 446
Posts 278

Mood: itchin to get wet!!!

posted on 19-8-2004 at 08:20 Reply With Quote
dunno....

I've been bodyboarding consistently for about 2 years now... and fins are a complete mystery to me haa haa!

For what it counts.. heres my views!

In bodyboarding we need the fins to help us catch waves and sometimes aid us whilst we're on them. Its as simple as that!
When your catching a wave, you need a fast burst of speed... when your on a wave, you need little bursts of speed. Following me (I hope someone is )

Right.... The shorter the fin.. the stiffer the end bit of the fin will be, and the stiffer the fin is the better we can speed up. However.... the shorter the fin the less surface area is actually pushing the water so it will have a lower "top speed" if you like.
So its finding a happy medium that best suits your style.

I realised that if all the top pros are wearing shorter fins then there must be a very good reason for it!

I've got a pair of these, and even though they are short they have funky channels that help water flow and increase speed. I love em!

http://www.hydrosportz.com/default_get_ie.htm

Airborne
A Force-of-Nature **

Member #: 325
Posts 486

Mood: Well and truly Stoked!

posted on 19-8-2004 at 11:30 Reply With Quote