Venom
Grommet

Member #: 1105
Posts 7

Mood: Bored

posted on 20-11-2004 at 23:15 Reply With Quote
My delema

Hey guys,

I'm new here, and I am also new to bodyboarding. I used to bodyboard a long time ago but now im starting to get back into it.

Ok so I just got my brand spankin new board today. I was all stoked ripping through the tape on the package and I took out the board and it was beautiful! Then the worst thing happend, a big bubble at the very bottom of the board (on the side that you lay on, not the slick side). I was so bummed. So now I have a few options.

Option 1:
I could send it back to the place I bought it and wait about 3 more weeks to get an exchange. However I think that the bubble was formed because it was shipped oversea in a container that was probably really hot. So there is the chance of there being another bubble on the next board. I also run the risk of losing interest in bodyboarding over the 3 weeks of waiting.

Option 2:
Attemp to repair the bubble, I was reading about this and there are a few sites that say bubbles can be repaired by slicing them with a razor and them gluing them down again. However if I do this, I cannot return the board for a new one, eliminating one of my options. My friend says I could try popping it with a needle, and if it doesn't work then the people at the place i bought it from wont notice the little needle hole.

Option 3:
Just leave the bubble alone, I was reading and I found out that bubbles don't affect the performance of the board at all if they are on the foam side. The bubble is pretty big in size, about 2" x 5", but it is not very high (raised). It is not very easy to notice it if you just glance at it, but if you get close enough its very visable.

Well guys, I don't know what to do here, and i would really appreciate any of your opinions or advice.

Thanks

View User's Profile E-Mail User View All Posts By User U2U Member This User Has MSN Messenger
Airborne
A Force-of-Nature **

Member #: 325