Author: Subject: please help me!!!
spookie
Grommet

Member #: 2134
Posts 13

Mood:

posted on 20-7-2006 at 05:46 Reply With Quote
please help me!!!

hi, i am very new to windsurfing in fact i just got my first board! i bought it second hand from a man who had owned this for years but had no idea how to put it together! so i got it home and tried in my back garden to put it together but i just cant see how the boom fits to the mast ??? maybe i am being really dumb here but its got me stumped, am i missing bits to it?, i tried looking at pics and diagrams of rigs but no pics seem to be that clear 1
can anyone give me some advice please?
jane

justal
Administrator

Member #: 1
Posts 7350

Mood: Just Chillin Dude

posted on 20-7-2006 at 06:14 Reply With Quote
What does the end of the boom look like? Can you post a photo of it?

All modern booms use a clamp fitting to connect to the mast, but the designs do vary slightly. Old booms (and we are talking pretty old these days) used to tie onto the mast, but if you have that sort I'd recommend changing it to a more modern clamp fitting boom straight away.

Al.

URL: Pixelwave Design - Website Design Wales
Shop: Website Templates

Personal Weblog: A Simple Life of Luxury in West Wales

spookie
Grommet

Posts 13

Mood:

posted on 20-7-2006 at 06:38 Reply With Quote
thanx for your reply, my fears i think are soon to be proved! i have taken a couple of pics but i reckon my set up is pretty prehistoric!- gutted! could i take it out anyway on our local lake just to see if i can get to grips with wind surfing before i spend loads of money on a decent set up? ( i say lake but its not that big!!) is it possible to windsurf with such an old one?
[img]new cam 146[/img] not sure if i have inserted pic ok? if not i will try again!
ok so i tried but dont know how to put photo on! lol if i was blonde i would be having a moment! lol
thanx again for your help
jane

[Edited on 20-7-2006 by spookie]

justal
Administrator

Posts 7350