Forces-of-Nature Forums

Last Active : Never
Not logged in [Login - Register]

windsurf, Kitesurf, Waves, Surf, Sunset

Printable Version
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Author: Subject: Kitesurf locations in New Zealand?
ajdesq
A Force-of-Nature *

F-O-N Champion 2003

Member #: 6
Posts 214

Mood: Living to kitesurf :-)

posted on 29-8-2006 at 13:10 Reply With Quote
Kitesurf locations in New Zealand?

WA is off due to a certain airline's sexist staff policy, don't get me started...

So it's NZ now for 4 weeks. Hurrah! Taking my 11m kite and board. I'm a real beginner (longest wobble on the board = 10 seconds) and wondered if anyone had any spot suggestions. How about Raglan? I think there's a good estuary/lagoon S of Christchurch too, non?

There's more to life than KITESURFING!

Let me know when you find it.

chase
Pro

Member #: 2324
Posts 102

Mood:

posted on 29-8-2006 at 13:47 Reply With Quote
NZ

Off to NZ in 2 weeks, all the way round the bay of plenty just below Auckland is s'possed to be good, Top end of south island round Nelson too. west coast of north is very rough and wild only recommended for advanced or waves. other than that sound cold and rough till xmas.
try these guys their pretty helpfull. http://www.windscene.co.nz/contactus

Jonny
A Force-of-Nature **

Member #: 394
Posts 308

Mood: waitin for the next blow!

posted on 29-8-2006 at 21:05 Reply With Quote
Hi Ajdesq
Long time no hear
As you probably saw last year from my diary entries, I did a windsurfing tour of New Zealand and sailed in the majority of windsurf/kitesurf locations in both islands for over 2 months. I missed out the Coromandel Peninsula and Lake Taupo. If you want any advice on any of the locations, just U2U me or check out my previous diary entries. I should do a beach guide for NZ and I've got loadsa potos for all the beaches.
For a beginner kitesurfing. Aucklands got pleanty of spots that would be ideal for beginners and its never usually that windy.