Author: Subject: Advice needed!!!!
kevin5969
Grommet

Member #: 6708
Posts 7

Mood:

posted on 18-6-2007 at 13:38 Reply With Quote
Advice needed!!!!

Having decided to bite the bullet and take up kite surfing, I am arranging some lessons from Kite Surf East Anglia and picked up an old Wipika Free Air 8.5m for practice on land.

I have been flying foils for a while using handles rather than a bar so am not a complete novice to the concept.

Having tried twice now to fly the LEI, I find that after launching I have little or no control from the bar, the kite gets about a third of the way towards the neutral point above me, turns so the leading edge is facing down and - you guess the rest – crashes.

Outside lines go the trailing edge and inside to the leading. Leading lines are equal in length but longer than the outside lines – all seems good to me?

The only other thing I can think of is that the few time I have tried to fly it, wind has varied between 7-9 mph. Could it be there just isn’t enough to keep it up?

Sorry if this is a bit basic but no chance of a lesson for a few weeks to come and I am determined to fly the bloody thing!!

Any ideas where I am going wrong?

Pluto
A Force-of-Nature *

Member #: 598
Posts 281

Mood:

posted on 19-6-2007 at 21:22 Reply With Quote
More wind would probably be helpful.

There's a fine balance in front/back line length. Front lines short, less power but also less resposive in steering. Front lines too long, kite stalls easily and flies backwards.

Do you have a power adjustment on your centre lines? Are you hooking in to your harness?

You'll find the bar a lot less responsive to your usual handles, don't be shy in inputing an instruction. You may need to have the bar pointing completely straight at the kite to get it to turn. What bar length are you using? If it's too short, the turn input will not be enough. Older kites needed big old bars to get them to work.

Hope this is some help!

www.kitesurfteacher.co.uk